When a court decides the custody of a child after a divorce, it is also necessary to come to a conclusion on the matter of child support. Child support is payments that are made by one parent to another after a divorce in order to continue care for their child. While only one parent is awarded physical custody of the child, the other parent is just as responsible for financially supporting the wants/needs of their child. Childcare in New Jersey can become costly for one parent to handle by themselves, so the non-custodial parent must contribute by paying their own share. These payments are meant to be used solely for the child.
Factors to be Considered
Because every family is different, there is not one solution to determine child support for every family. Every case is different and is treated as such. In order to determine the amount a parent must pay in child support, the state created the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines. This is a calculation used to come to the conclusion of child support. The formula applies to parents with a combined yearly income between $8,840 and $187,200. It calculates the child’s expenses with the family income to determine a fair situation.
In cases outside the Guidelines, the court will take sever factors into consideration to determine child support. In the event of this, the courts acknowledge the following:
- The financial status of each parent
- Who has physical custody of the child
- Any income, debt, and assets of each parent
- Each parent’s earning capacity
- Each parent’s work history
- The child’s needs
- The child’s age/health
- The child’s education
- The cost of providing for the child
When Does Child Support Stop?
Child support payments are only required to be paid by parents until their child reaches a certain age. In the state of New Jersey, a child is seen as emancipated after the age of 19. This may vary depending on the lifestyles and situations surrounding the child and family. There are cases in which payments may be extended to another age. If a child seeks higher education such as college or trade school, they may not be deemed as emancipated until the complete their education. Parents may have to continue paying for education for some of the following reasons:
- The amount of money sought
- The capability of a parent to pay the costs
- The school and course of study
- The child’s commitment
- The child’s finances
- The accessibility of financial aid
- The child’s relationship with both parents
- The financial capacity of the parents
If you or a family member is seeking representation for a child support case, contact Paris P. Eliades Law Firm LLC. today.
Paris P. Eliades Law Firm, LLC is honored to serve the people of New Jersey, including Sparta, Sussex County, Morris County, Passaic County, and Bergen County with the quality legal services they deserve. Contact our firm for a consultation today.